Ally McCoist has been left perplexed after Jack Butland was overlooked a second time by England manager Gareth Southgate.

The Ibrox hero reckons Butland has done more than enough in his time as Rangers No1 to warrant inclusion in the national team.

However, Butland was not selected in Southgate's initial squad list despite speculation he had done enough to earn a call-up.

Sam Johnstone, Jordan Pickford and Aaron Ramsdale were chosen by Southgate as his goalkeeping options.

Crystal Palace keeper Johnstone has since dropped out of the squad through injury - with Harry Maguire and Kyle Walker also returning to their respective clubs.

That prompted Southgate to bring in a replacement to bolster his goalkeeping department. 

And despite Butland's near miss for the original squad, Burnley's James Trafford was Southgate's choice.

READ MORE: Butland overlooked for England after goalkeeper drops out

Ibrox hero McCoist was disappointed to see Butland miss out again as he bemoaned injured players and players not playing being selected in front of the Rangers goalkeeper.

On talkSPORT, McCoist sighed: "I've said it for a couple of weeks, I don't know what he has got to do.

"Certainly, his performances and his form have been fantastic.

"There are now injured players and guys effectively not playing getting picked before him.

"That's Gareth's prerogative but it is definitely a strange one for me."

England squad in full

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), James Trafford (Burnley)

Defenders: Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), John Stones (Manchester City), Rico Lewis (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Ajax), James Maddison (Tottenham Hotspur), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United)

Forwards: Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United) Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)